For our Angry Little Bird :)

I had been meaning to make an angry birds cake for a long time now but didn’t really know for whom to make it for. Then it was Amna’s birthday (a very dear friend’s daughter). I was planning on making a princess cake for her when my husband suggested that angry birds cake would suit her more. Amna has a bit of reputation for a quick temper 🙂 So I dragged another good friend, Nazwar, into making the angry birds figurines.

I just feel so euphoric after making this cake as this was a very first attempt at fondant figurines. Although I do acknowledge that the icing on the cake isn’t as smooth as it should be mainly because we were dead tired while making the birds. We had not anticipated the number of hours it would take us novices to accomplish the exactness of each bird. It took us nearly 4 hours and we were just so happy.

For the cake, I used the same cake recipe I had used for making my violets cake. It went so well with the chocolate buttercream. The cake was moist as well because of the sugar syrup used. All in all it was a good experience for us and everyone enjoyed the birds. I can”t say much about the birthday girl, Amna, who attacked on the Twix slingshot and put it in her mouth 🙂 Here are some more pictures:

4 Comments Add yours

  1. mydearbakes says:

    This looks so brilliant! How I wish I can do something like that =)

    1. nfatima says:

      Thanks a lot for the compliment 🙂 fondant is actually very good to play around with. Am sure anyone can do it 🙂

  2. Ash Aapi says:

    Angry birds have become so much more popular after your this master piece 🙂

    1. nfatima says:

      thanks for such encouragement 🙂

Leave a Reply

