Quick, Crumbly Brownies

on


Who wouldn’t want a quick and easy brownie recipe to satisfy the chocolate craving? This brownie recipe was introduced to me by a dear friend – Nazwar, so I dedicate this post to her 🙂 The All Recipes website has this recipe as “one bowl brownies” recipe and there are 681 reviews about it with four and half stars rating. Now that tells you a lot about the recipe. According to husband dear they taste just like Chili’s “chocolate chip paradise pie” (mainly because of the addition of chocolate chips and walnuts) and I would rather make these quick brownies then go through all the trouble of recreating Chili’s paradise pie.

I have tweaked the recipe a bit as the original recipe called for 2 cups of white sugar (yikess!) , a bit too much even for a sweet lover like me 🙂 So without further ranting here’s the recipe.

Ingredients:

4 ounces unsweetened chocolate chopped (I used half chocolate chips as well)

3/4  cup butter/margarine (I like butter)

1-1/2 cups of white sugar (I find that you can cut the sugar down some more)

3 eggs

1 teaspoons vanilla essence/extract

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup chopped walnuts

1/2 cup unsweetened chocolate chips (optional; the original recipe doesn’t have it but I like when the melted chips come in your mouth)

Preparation Time: 40-45 minutes

Servings: 8-10 servings

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees Celsius).
  2. Microwave chocolate and butter/margarine in a large bowl at HIGH for 2 minutes or until the butter/margarine has melted. As I am an anti-microwave person (even though I have one), I like to do this step on a double boiler.
  3. Stir until chocolate has melted. Stir in sugar. Mix in the eggs and vanilla.
  4. Sift flour and stir it in the batter with nuts.
  5. Spread in a greased 13 x 9 inch pan. Bake for 35 minutes or till done. I like mine a bit fudge-y from inside so I take out at around 25 minutes.
  6. Serve warm with vanilla ice-cream, because for me the only decent way to serve brownies is with vanilla ice-cream.

Useful Tips:

  1. You have to make sure that your pan has been greased very properly as the brownies tend to stick to the bottom of the pan because of the sugar.
  2. Do not beat the batter, just stir at every step.
  3. These brownies are a bit crumbly looking and mine didn’t cut so well as I was in a  hurry to serve them right out of the oven. But they do compensate their looks with the fabulous, rich, chocolatey taste.
  4. The brownies keep well outside the refrigerator if the temperature is not too high and taste just as fudge-y the next morning (only if you have leftovers as both the times I made them, everyone wanted a second serving).

And I can’t help posting another one of the tempting pictures 🙂

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

