I think everyone knows the various pros of desserts served in shot glasses

  • They are cute
  • You can control the amount of serving you eat
  • You can do so many variations and your guests won’t be overwhelmed by so many variations
  • Your guests will be awed and duly impressed :D
  • And did I mention that they look soooo cute??

So I have been searching for the perfect shot glasses. I could have found them easily in some high-end shop but I wanted them at a reasonable price (confession – yes I can be miserly at times when I think I won’t be using these that often). So when I found the glasses I started the search for the desserts I want to try and I was in for a huge muddle in my head :-S there are so many recipes out on the internet that you get utterly confused (at least I do). Then I really wanted to use the shot glasses and on the spur of the moment chose this easiest recipe for chocolate mousse. My glasses were filled and kept in the refrigerator under half an hour.So here’s what you do to impress your guests:

Ingredients:

3 tablespoons butter, melted

3/4 cup graham cracker crumbs (or any other crackers on hand. You can also use Digestive biscuits)

1 teaspoon sugar + 1/4-1/2 cup of powdered sugar

1 8-oz. package cream cheese, softened

1/4 teaspoon vanilla

1 tablespoon milk

4 oz. baking chocolate or chocolate chips (can be dark, semi-sweet or sweet)

230 ml. of whipping cream with a bit of sugar

Method:

Melt butter in microwaveable bowl. Add cracker crumbs, 1 teaspoon sugar and mix thoroughly. Place about a teaspoon of mixture in the bottom of a shot glass and a little more if using cordials. Press down. I used a melon scoop for pressing down as my shot glasses were very small.

In another bowl, whip the whipping cream with 1/4 cup or 1/2 cup of powdered sugar. In a large mixing bowl, beat softened cream cheese and vanilla until fluffy. In a smaller microwaveable bowl, melt chocolate together with milk. Mix and add in the cream cheese mixture.  Gently fold in the whipped cream in the cream cheese mixture.

Fill each glass to the top with chocolate mousse. The garnishing options are limitless. I just melted a few chocolate chips with a little milk in the microwave and added it on top of the mousse and sprinkled some sugar sprinklers. You can also add chopped walnuts, roasted almonds, a dollop of whipped cream etc. Let your imagination flow.

Servings: 12-14 shot glasses (depending on the size)

Preparation Time: Half an hour

Here’s another view to tempt you further:

 

 

