“Breakfast like a king, lunch like a prince and dine like a pauper”

We have been brought up with this principle by our mother. Every morning she used to make a hearty breakfast for the whole family before leaving for work, so that habit of having a good breakfast has been firmly instilled in me. But now that I have to make breakfast on my own before leaving home, it seems like an ordeal so I am always on a lookout for shortcuts. This recipe for the make-ahead pancakes is so forgiving that you do not really have to be particular about the measurements. You can easily make the batter at night before going off to bed and it will hardly take 10-15 mins. to make hot pancakes in the morning. Here’s what you have to do:

Throw in an egg, buttermilk and butter (it had to be melted but I always have butter at room temperature so I did not bother – yes I am that lazy :D) And to be more lazy I just mix the batter in the container that is going in my refrigerator.

Add in sugar, baking powder, salt and flour.

Don’t worry if there are lumps in the mixture. It will have plenty of time overnight to mix. Refrigerate. Heat a pan or griddle and pour a little batter in the pan. Wait till the bubbles are formed on top like so:

Flip over and cook a little while on the other side.

Serve with fresh fruit, fruit juice, maple syrup…practically anything that you fancy. As for me and husband dear, we both like chocolate spread with our pancakes :$

Here’s the recipe (The plate above shows the quantity of pancakes made with half of the recipe… P.S. I ate one before clicking :$)

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups flour

3 tablespoons sugar

1 3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

3 eggs

3 tablespoons melted butter (cooled)

1 1/2 cups buttermilk (I use 1 tablespoon of vinegar in a cup and fill it with milk)

about 1/2 cup whole milk for thinning batter

Preparation:

In one bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients. In another bowl, whisk eggs, buttermilk and butter. Pour the liquid ingredients into the dry ingredients (I just dump in the dry into the liquid ingredients as I have sifted my flour on a paper and it is still there with all the other dry ingredients). Mix it a bit (Don’t worry about the lumps). Refrigerate.

Before making the pancakes thin the batter with whole milk (if required). I usually use half of the recipe and add in two eggs instead of making them 1 and half so the batter formed is already thin and there is not much need of adding milk. Heat a griddle or frying pan. Pour a little batter and wait for the bubbles to form. Flip over and let the pancake cook for a few seconds. Enjoy!

